The 4 Core Values I Stand For

On Friday 17th February, I completed my internship at Mossery, a stationery brand startup that crafts beautiful customisable planners, sketchbooks and notebooks to the world. However, what I really found special about the company was its huge emphasis on nurturing and communicating values.

Throughout the 2 months and a half (or so) period I was there, I eventually started thinking about my own values. Everyone has a set of values they live by, but I was never really conscious of mine before. Finally, after some deep soul-searching, I figured out 4 core values that I’ve been following pretty much my whole life. And I’m sharing them here, in the hopes that you too will be inspire to look for your own.

1. Ancora imparo.

I am still learning. Okay, so it’s funny but this is the slogan of Monash university, which is basically how I discovered that beautiful, empowering yet humble phrase. At core, we, as human beings, will never cease to learn. If we want to grow, we have to keep on learning.

In my case, if you’ve been following this blog for a long time, you probably know that I’ve constantly been switching hobbies and passions and careers. That’s mainly because I’ve always been excited about learning new things. In fact, since the beginning of this year, I’ve already been having new ‘hobbies’, like coding, email marketing and personal growth. And I know that I’ll never stop learning and getting curious about brand new fields.

pexels-photo-267586

2. Help people.

This is the main reason why, when I was denied my dream of becoming an artist or applying for creative writing, I took psychology as my major. For me, my drive to pursue psychology mainly emerged from the feeling of being helpless. Seeing anxiety and  depression being so common triggered me. I really wanted to make a difference, and I still do, whether it’ll be in mental health issues, or another meaningful cause of mine.

I used to dream about becoming an agent whose job would be to help people realise their dreams. And that’s where this value comes from. To help, to give something back to the world.

pexels-photo-247789

3. Create meaning.

I was talking to my boyfriend about how I wanted to be like Bill Gates. Not in the sense that I want to build a successful tech company, but in the sense that I want make my work meaningful, just like he does with his Gates Foundation. Last night, my friends and I were also talking about similar topics. I would rather not be successful at all than be successful like Justin Bieber, let’s say. Basically, if I were to succeed, I would want my success to be in a valuable cause.

I want my work to impact people and the world. It doesn’t have to be grandiose; simply working for the right company with the right values is a great step to creating meaning in itself. Work to make a better world and live a meaningful life.

pexels-photo-110147

4. Give hope.

Not the kind of false hope. But I want people to know that there is no ‘one way’ to do things. That, when all seem to go against you, there’s still a chance of you making it. It’s real. It’s probability. It’s breaking away from the norms, the ‘should’s and ‘must’s, and creating your own path to what you want to achieve in life. There is no more one career or one way of life.

In many (especially) Asian families like mine, we’re brought up to think that their is only one way. Be a doctor and you’ll be successful in life. Because success is having a lot of money. Any other path you take will lead you to failure and unhappiness. Although I was able to break out of that pattern, not many do.

Thousands of possibilities await us. That’s the message I want to pass on, to spread like an Asian disease. I want people to know. I want people to have hope, within their means, their environment.

pexels-photo

An Evil Nymph.

2 thoughts on “The 4 Core Values I Stand For

  1. These are beautiful core values. You’ve got a lovely outlook.

    I’d searched for a job that didn’t depress me for years, and I finally found one last year for a family business tea merchant. The uncaring, make-more-money-at-the-cost-of-living, or work-for-nothing attitudes so many companies have is depressing. Not to mention how most of those jobs make me feel like my life is disappearing.

    I like the thoughtfulness of this post. I’ll have to see if I can round mine down to four as well…

    1. Thank you for reading 🙂
      Yes it is, unfortunately.
      Four, or more or less, the number of values doesn’t really matter, but giving it a thought is already a great step forward!

Leave a Reply

