Have I Given Up On Travelling?

Honestly, this post was so hard to write. My thoughts are all over the place and I apologise.

***

I’ve had this blog post idea for a long time now. It’s been on my list of ‘topics to write on’ for months.

The original title was “I gave up on travelling.” But I decided to change it. Why?

Who I was months ago had a different perspective and mindset when she wrote that title. Who I am now has gone through a lot of post-graduation thoughts about the future… and some kind of epiphany about who, where, how I want to be.

Back then, even though I didn’t seem like it, I was against travelling as a student, unless you could afford it, i.e. your parents are freaking tolerant about you spending their money (mine aren’t).

On the other hand, if you were getting by with your hard-earned money or by a limited student allowance, I would’ve suggested keeping that money and saving for your future. I mean, that’s what I do.

pexels-photo-393432

Yes, this is a partly a personal finance post; I couldn’t help it, I’m so Asian. My close friends know I like talking about money and my sister is tired of it. Sorry, not sorry!

Now, after going through quite a rough end-of-semester, I’ve been feeling less… resentful about the current concept of travel, the ‘Wanderlust’ trend that’s compelling every young adult to explore the world. And about how you have to do it NOW, or else they miss out on life-changing experiences.

Although I didn’t and I still don’t agree with that opinion, I’ve become more tolerant of people around me who constantly travel AND can’t understand why I won’t/can’t (yes, some people believe that travel is accessible to or a ‘must-do’ for everyone).

Frankly, it’s your money, do what you want; just don’t force it on other people. I mean, I don’t force people to save money. Suggesting things is appreciated though.

I guess that, a year ago, it felt weird to reply “I want to save money” when someone would ask me “why don’t you travel?”, as compared to now because I’m now graduated and I must eventually make my own living (also, things are a bit complicated right now in terms of paperwork, so I have a ‘legit’ reason to save up).

Back then, I didn’t really know why I was saving up. I mean, yes I was building my emergency fund, but other than that, everything was quite blurred. Today, things are still not very clear (being an international student just makes it complicated), but everything is slowly taking shape.

pexels-photo-205000

So, even if I can afford to travel outside of Malaysia today, I won’t. WHY?

One word: goal.

It took me a while to acknowledge this, but we all have different life goals. Seems absurd that I couldn’t see this when I write it, but what I mean is, not everyone wants to live ambitiously, not everyone wants to migrate to another country or become a full-time writer, or a business owner.

Some people aim to live in the moment and prioritise travel as their savings goal; I don’t.

You’d think everyone wants to be a millionaire? Think again. Only those who actively work for that goal (e.g. diversifying their income, investing in cryptocurrency, you name it) truly want it. 

Frankly, if you don’t want to be a millionaire, that’s fine. If you want to stick to a 9-5 job your whole life, that’s fine too. Money doesn’t bring happiness.

However, money is a means to your goals. 

And if your goal is to travel to every country in the world before you die, that’s awesome. 

But if travelling doesn’t bring you closer to your goals, you’ve got some re-budgeting to do. 

I’m in the later category. Travelling doesn’t bring me closer to my life goals. It’s a great way to relax and get away from the grind, sure! But it’s not something I would prioritise. For me, travel is optional; it’s a luxury; something I do when I have leftover cash after savings.

pexels-photo-131324

When I named this post “I gave up on travelling” a few months ago, I was planning to talk about how I had decided to not travel AT ALL until I settled down with a job after graduation.

However, I changed the title because I may travel next month. I won’t be going out of Malaysia; it’s more like a ‘farewell’ type of travel, going back to the Malaysian places I love. Nothing is confirmed yet, but the fact that I considered travelling completely changed the direction of this post.

All I’m saying is, travel with a purpose.

Don’t travel for the sake of travelling.

Focus on your goals.

You’ll be just fine.

An Evil Nymph.

5 thoughts on “Have I Given Up On Travelling?

  1. I’m agreeing with you! Travel only when you can truly afford it, unless your life’s goal is to run around the world. To me it’s more important to be able to have financial security to support my home, future and do things that will enable me to travel long in the future if I catch that travel bug. Great post! Thank you for sharing and best of luck saving!

  2. I didn’t travel except for summer holidays with my parents in Scotland, until I went to work (which was straight from secondary school). Then all my travelling was done in connection my railway enthusiast hobby and around the UK. I used to do around 12000 miles a year and visited all sorts of places that most UK residents don’t even know exist 😉 Then I discovered aeroplanes and flew them to small out of the way airfields with odd names like Little Snoring! Then I met my wife and our Son arrived – time to put most of the travelling aside and keep the money close to home where its needed 🙂 That’s not dissimilar to your current situation is it. Another interesting post as always 🙂

    1. Thanks for sharing your travel adventures 🙂 I love going to places that people don’t know about. That’s how you really get to discover places! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

